Taking some reminders from the boy with the fish….

A few months back when were learning about great Civil War abolitionist heroes, the kids wrote to our president, senators, and representatives about modern day slavery.    It wasn’t out of any sort of urging from anywhere beyond the kids wanting to do something, whatever they could.  Beyond a few other things we were doing as a family in efforts against slavery, I confess I encouraged them in the letter writing just to believe in our government process. Image

After the New Year, there was another push for TVPRA to protect and save victims of trafficking. The kids were very encouraged in an article (both by the chance to have their story motivate others and quite honestly me…to call) Read here:  http://womenofvision.org/2013/01/11/global-human-trafficking-awareness-day-call-your-senators-and-representative-today/

They did enjoy hearing from the President (vague form letter type, but still … a letter from The White House) and we now have meetings with our Senator’s office and our Representative’s office when we go to DC at the end of the month.

But what is MORE….is that my kids, unknowingly (heck – I had NO CLUE) got to be a part of this:

Image

When this got posted about the TVPRA, I was sitting at the computer crying tears of joy and I told the kids.  They started running around the house cheering and doing the happy dance.  I was overwhelmed for 2 reasons.  First of all and most important – slavery needs to stop and this is an important part of that.  Secondly – my kids were a part of that process.  Now I doubt they swayed anyone’s vote or anything, but they were still a part of that.  I believe that  it will effect how they interact with politics and voting (and mine).  Late yesterday Lukas, on his own (because if it was an assignment, he wouldn’t do it) wrote a “Newspaper”…one of the pages is this:

Image

What is says, in bad handwriting is:  “GREAT NEWS!  The president singed a bill that says I will not let slavery happen in my time.  Lukas and Lane Goodworth rote a note to the president about slavery to let that happen.”  (and then of course just after it are tips for newspaper readers on how to play the Wii and many comics he drew…just to keep the paper balanced I suppose).

My point….

The boy with the fish had NO IDEA that Jesus was going to multiply his lunch into a feast for thousands.  He just wanted to offer what he had.  That is all anyone could have ever asked.  So often we would look at that boy and think “don’t even try…there are too many people”.  But, he offered all the same.  We don’t know when our offering will small as it is or multiplied.  All we are asked to do is, in spite of the crowds, statistics, or needs,….to offer…whatever we have.  Jesus will do the rest.

The boy with the fish teaches me this.

My kids teach me this.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    I love this, Anna. Pure light.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment